R.I.P Bain!!! (Poison Killed My Dog) 4/26/13

I found out in doing research on dog food when my dog Bain got sick that the dog food he was eating has medadione in it. I found that both types of dog food I had fed my dog have Medadione in it. Along with other ingredients that’s not good for your pet. In doing my research I learned that my dog Bain had symptoms of rat poison. I didn’t buy rat poison, because I had no need too and didn’t have any around the house,  but my dog had gotten rat poison from the back of the barn and eaten it. I did not put it there. so my guess is a neighbor poison my dog.

In his last two days my Bain just wanted to go outside and go under the bushes and trees and rest forever. I tried 5 times to bring him back on the back porch before he slowly walked back. As he going up the back steps he collapse as his legs went limp, and he stared at me with his eyes open paralyzed and looking afraid. My husband rushed out the backdoor and picked him up in his arms cradled like a baby. I was surprised at how easy it was for my husband to lift a once 70 lb pit-bull that was now maybe 30 if not 25 lbs. His drastic weight loss had worried me so. In the end we made him as comfortable as we could and I sat by his side as he put his head on my leg, while I rubbed and talked to him, telling him it’s going to be alright Bain. Mommy is here. Little did I know he had gone into a coma when I thought he was just sleeping and snoring? I laid his head on the porch and sat beside him watching, knowing deep inside my dog was dying. Tears running down my face now as I share this with you, but this is for Bain and to let all pet owners know about the poisons that can kill your pet. My Bain was only 10 months old and a heavy 70 lb dog, I miss him so much.

I started feeding my Shih-Tzu of 9 years plain rice and chicken, turkey or beef with no salt added. Already I’m seeing a change in her coat, her energy and her skin. I take the time to cook her food everyday and will not be buying anymore dog food. I figure if I won’t trash my body with fast food, why would I give my dogs junk trash food. Take Care of your dogs, they’re family.

This info is useful for cats and cat food and rat poison as well. Dogs and Cats are the most affected by these poisons and they are deadly. Just be sure to check any pet food you decided to buy for your pet. If you see any of these ingredients do not give to your pet. The Rat Poison killed my Bain but these products did not help the situation either, they are just as deadly, especially if used on a daily basis.

Ground yellow corn, corn germ meal, meat and bone meal, soybean meal, beef tallow, , corn gluten meal, animal digest, , dried peas, added color (red 40, yellow 5, blue 2), , garlic oil, menadione sodium bisulfite complex .

Alpo Dog Food (Dry)

Rachael Ray Nutrish (Dry)

http://www.petmd.com/dog/conditions/toxicity/c_multi_bromethalin_rodenticide_toxicity#.UYKnIKLD_VK

Medadione. •causes cytotoxicity in liver cells
•causes formation of radicals from enzymes of leucocytes, with the consequence of cytotoxic reactions
•considerably weakens the immune system
•possible mutagenic effects
•damages the natural vitamin K cycle
•has no effect on coumarin derivatives, which are often present in commercial food due to mold contamination (toxic when ingested)
•causes hemolytic anemia and hyperbilirubinemia, not just linked to large doses
•disturbs the level of calcium ions (Ca2+) in the body, which is an important factor fibrinolysis
•is directly toxic in high doses (vomiting, albuminuria), unlike natural vitamin K
•builds up in tissue and has been detected in eggs, meat and milk of animals supplemented with menadione derivatives
•causes irritation of skin and mucous membranes
•causes allergic reactions and eczema

Alpo:: Ingredients: Ground yellow corn, corn germ meal, meat and bone meal (source of pork flavor), soybean meal, beef tallow preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), egg and chicken flavor, corn gluten meal, animal digest, salt, dried peas, potassium chloride, natural steak flavor, natural grill flavor, choline chloride, added color (red 40, yellow 5, blue 2), zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, DL-Methionine, Vitamin E supplement, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium carbonate, copper sulfate, calcium pantothenate, garlic oil, pyridoxine hydrochloride, Vitamin B-12 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, Vitamin D-3 supplement, riboflavin supplement, calcium iodate, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), folic acid, biotin, sodium selenite. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/alpo-dog-food-dry/

Rachael Ray:: Ingredients: Beef, chicken meal, ground rice, corn meal, soybean meal, poultry fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols), corn gluten meal, brown rice, oatmeal, dried plain beet pulp, natural flavor, dicalcium phosphate, salt, calcium carbonate, dehydrated alfalfa, dried peas, dried carrots, dried tomatoes, potassium chloride, choline chloride, olive oil, iron oxide, vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, dried parsley, l-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), mixed tocopherols, niacin, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, d-calcium pantothenate, biotin, sodium selenite, vitamin A supplement, riboflavin supplement, vitamin D3 supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of vitamin K activity), vitamin B12 supplement, potassium iodide, cobalt sulfate, folic acid http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/rachael-ray-nutrish-dog-food/

Rat Poison:: http://www.petmd.com/dog/conditions/toxicity/c_multi_bromethalin_rodenticide_toxicity#.UYKnIKLD_VK

Anti-freeze:: http://www.petmd.com/dog/emergency/digestive/e_multi_antifreeze_poisoning#

Leave a Reply

